Commissioning of new teachers and principals at 2013 Education Mass


Commissioning ceremony.

Read original article in full at the Catholic Education, Diocese of Parramatta site

Four principals and 150 beginning teachers were commissioned into their roles of service in the Catholic Diocese of Parramatta at the annual Education Mass held at St Patrick’s Church in Blacktown on Thursday 7 March.

Around 900 teachers and staff from schools across the diocese and the Catholic Education Office and Kevin Connolly MP, State Member for Riverstone and Dominic Perrottet MP, State Member for Castle Hill, attended the special commissioning ceremony and Education Mass.

The Mass was celebrated by the Bishop of Parramatta, Most Rev Anthony Fisher OP, and concelebrated by Vicar General and Episcopal Vicar for Education and Formation, Very Rev Chris de Souza VG EV, and priests of the diocese.

Teaching the truth in love

Bishop Anthony’s Homily.

A collection of Bishop Anthony’s addresses and homilies was launched at the Education Mass.

Father Chris de Souza launched the new formation text, Teaching the truth in love, which would be made available to every teacher and staff member in the diocese to enrich their formation and teaching of the Catholic faith.

After the commissioning ceremony, Bishop Anthony, as Chair of the NSW Catholic Education Commission (NSWCEC), presented the 2012 Br John Taylor award to director strategic accountabilities services, Dr John DeCourcy with representatives from the NSWCEC; executive director, Dr Brian Croke, director corporate services, John Kitney and assistant director education policy, Rosalie Nott.

Congratulations to the newly commissioned beginning teachers and the following principals:

Elizabeth Devlin – St Bernadette’s Primary Lalor Park

Anthony McElhone – St Oliver’s Primary Harris Park

Mary-ann Gatt-Petrini – St Bernadette’s Primary Dundas

Lesley Studans – Our Lady of Lourdes Primary Seven Hills

« Return to news list